In 1868 Hans Martin Hanson and his brother-in-law Knud Olson bought the 260 acres of land from Dr. David Maynard. The acquisition worth was $450. Later Hanson and Olson divided the property with Hanson’s portion being the purpose.Legend has it that someday through the 1870s farmer Hanson hung a brass kerosene lantern from a publish. He did this so as to mark the damaging shoals of Alki Level for the mariners of Puget Sound who have been growing in numbers.In 1887 the Federal Lighthouse Board determined that Alki Level was extraordinarily hazardous to marine visitors and so they changed Hanson’s kerosene lantern with a “post lantern”. “Post lanterns” have been used at many areas till a lighthouse may b e constructed.As a result of the lantern was on his property, Hanson was appointed gentle keeper. His wage was $15.00 a month. For this he stuffed the gas tank, cleaned the glass, trimmed the wicks and lit and extinguished the lamp each day. He was helped by his son, Edmund, his six daughters, and his niece Linda Olson.Mr. Martin’s youngsters inherited his 320-acre farm when he died on July 26, 1900. Additionally they inherited the sunshine keeper’s job which nonetheless paid solely $15. a month. Edmund and his cousin Linda Olson together with Edmund’s youngsters saved the lamp burning for one more 10 years.In 1910 the U. S. Lighthouse Service bought the 1.5 acre pie-shaped piece of land at Alki Level for $9,999. A 37-foot-tall octagonal concrete and masonry tower with an hooked up fog sign constructing was constructed on the purpose. Behind the lighthouse was construct two giant houses for the lighthouse keepers and their households. With a view to shield the buildings from heavy swell throughout storms and excessive tides the contractors introduced in about 7,00zero yards of sand and gravel an d added to the purpose.This required the service of two lighthouse keepers doing 12-hour shifts seven days per week for which they have been every paid $800 a yr plus housing.Through the years varied enhancements have been made within the lighthouse system and adjustments in personnel have been made till in 1970, Albert G Anderson, the final civilian lighthouse keeper retired after spending 20 years at Alki Level.All the gentle conserving was carried out manually on the level till the 1980’s. Coast Guardsmen stood guard on eight-hour watches, 24 hours a day, seven days per week. The keeper turned the airway beacon on one-half hour earlier than sundown and turned it off one-half hour after dawn. The Chief Lighthouse Keeper’s home was occupied by the Commander of the 13th Coast Guard District.The Alki Level Lighthouse was absolutely automated in October 1984. The trendy VRB-25 marine rotating beacon operates 24 hours a day, flashing as soon as each 5 seconds.. An emergency gentle situated on the skin of the tower is operated by 12 volt batteries. Two electrical fog horns are activated when visibility drops beneath three miles.The Coast Guard Museum, Pier 36, 1519 Alaskan Manner S in Seattle is the place you may see, on show, the outdated publish lantern that was positioned on Alki Level in 1887 by the Lighthouse Service.The Alki Level Lighthouse, 3201 Alki Avenue SW, is certainly one of eight lighthouses on or close to Puget Sound open to guests.